What's new

How to share rent with Japanese girlfriend

How much should a girl (with own income) contribute to the rent when living together?

• Total voters

mikels

後輩
24 Sep 2010
What is the common way to split up rent when moving in with a girl in Japan? In many countries it's proportional to income or half/half, but how about Japan? What are your thoughts?

I'm not an expert on the subject, but I would say split the rent right down the middle. I would do the same with the bills (maybe not cell phones and the like).

There are many details left out here. Not knowing whether she is really your "girlfriend" (lover) or "girl-friend" (female friend) I selected that she should pay half. Also, did you invite her to live with you or did she propose it?

Irregardless, I still say she should pay half if she is working, including the food and utilities. I say this because it will give you some kind of indication of how she will react and handle money in the future. I would be wary if she balks at having to paying anything other than half.

Thank you. Apparently the title doesn't make it obvious enough, the question is about moving in with a girlfriend. In many countries rent etc. is split in half but in Japan I don't think that is the common practice. So I am interested to hear your opinions about it.

Thank you. Apparently the title doesn't make it obvious enough, the question is about moving in with a girlfriend. In many countries rent etc. is split in half but in Japan I don't think that is the common practice. So I am interested to hear your opinions about it.
Apparently not. Still, what is your relationship with this girl? Are you planning on getting married? Have you met the family? Does here parents know she is moving in with you? All these will be pertinent to how you should deal with the situation.