What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Help: trying to learn Hiragana

Martialartsnovice

Custom Graphix Artist
Reaction score
Hi I need help trying to remember Hiragana, But I keep forgetting about half the letters, in Hirgana, i feel quite dumb, but thats my opinion, My friend said it took him a while but he was in class at my school, learining it every day, Me well I study about every 2 days. I wanted to get a mastery on teh Hiragan system, before I attempt the class next year, I really am aggravated about my loss of memory, and lack of memory recall. Is there any tricks to remebering the systems or am I lost in the woods here folks.

msfi

後輩
Reaction score
I have been learning Japanese for a couple of months but there's a couple of Hiragana that I always seem to confuse or forget, because they aren't used as frequently (at least, in words I've encountered so far). What learning methods are you using? Flash cards, recognition? Reading?

You probably need to try a combination of things like -

- concentrate on a group of Hiragana and write each one out 10 times
- flash cards
- listen to Japanese and try to picture the Hiragana in your head

I've taken classes on learning methods.... you remember things more easily if you combine audio (listening), visual (flash cards), and kinaesthetic methods (in this case, writing). Certainly, when I was learning Italian, writing out the vocab and verb patterns over and over helped them to stick in my mind! :)

vorpar

先輩
Reaction score
I recommend the game at this website:

Project LRNJ: Learn Japanese RPG

It's an rpg type game where you type in the romaji (english equivalent) of the hiragana and katakana to defeat creatures.

It includes the 4 excised syllables, but 4 extras isn't a terrible strain.

miu

先輩
Reaction score