What's new

Help me with Kanji Please - any suggestions?

iiuu_d

後輩
1 Jan 2007
Dear all
I just found out your web forum by googled and have to say that you guys really rocks!!! this is such a great resource for nihongo. Well, my problem is I'm now a new resident in Tokyo with just a fundamental knowledge in Japanese. I found out that everytime I see a strange kanji word, I try to find it in the elec-dict. But it turns out that it's too hard to understand especially when it compounds with other character. I dont know how to input that kanji!! and also the counting of strokes is too tough! e.g. in the supermarket I always gave up after 30mins looking up that kanji in the dictionary!! do you have any suggestions? Do you have any dictionary recommend (I haven't bought it though but I sometimes use my friend's Canon Wordtank)? or any technique using it? please help me!!!...

In order to be able to count strokes and more efficiently look up characters that you don't know, you need to be able to break them down. Seeing 購 for the first time is certainly intimidating, but when you can break it up into 貝 on the left and 冓 on the right it makes things a bit easier (although the right side is still tough). This gets easier the more you see them, because you will become familiar with the right side from characters like 構 and 講.

A big part of breaking up the characters is knowing the radicals. There are 214 of them traditionally. There's a list of them WWWJDIC: Word Search page. That page lists the full forms for some of them, and not for others, though, so you have to be a bit careful. For example, 齊 is listed instead of it's abbreviated form 斉, but 艹 is listed instead of 艸.