What's new

Help about a text...

Sirius

後輩
15 Dec 2003
Hello, I am a beginner in Japanese. I will be grateful if someone could help me.

I have a book... a 4th Grade Science Book from Elementary School (Shoogaku shi-nen rika), that I am trying to translate by myself, to complement my formal studies of the Japanese Language.

I wonder if someone could help me with the following:

はしがき.

みなさんは, ニュートンの話をお聞きになったことがありますか?. ----- そうです. あの偉大科学者ニュートンの話です.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. " はしがき " I guess is something like "introduction" or "prologue". It is just that I don't find it in any dictionary.

2. Could you help me with a grammatical explanation of " お聞きになった"? Is it a conjugation of a verb?... or... I am including more than one element here?

3. Could you translate this little text... just to be sure that I have more or less the meaning of it.

Regards.

This is my understanding of the text.

はしがき gave me a meaning of "preface" at

This is where I get some of my references.

Anyway, the rest of it goes...

Has everyone heard of Newton's story?
It is the greatest scientist story of newton.

That's my translation of it.
I can't really explain お聞きになった, but the があります at the end means "have you experienced."

I hope someone else can clarify this.

はしがき.

みなさんは, ニュートンの話をお聞きになったことがありますか?. ----- そうです. あの偉大科学者ニュートンの話です.

お聞きになった is keigo (sonkeigo to be precise), and therefore you shouldn't worry about it. most people don't cover it until uni. a simpler version is 聞いた. Therefore its:
みなさんは, ニュートンの話を聞いたことがありますか?. ----- そうです. あの偉大科学者ニュートンの話です.

"Has everyone heard of the story of Newton? It is the story of that great scientist (Newton)."

I don't like the way I translated that last sentence, but that's pretty much what it says.

Hello... does someone knows...

In the following text:

かれは, リンゴの実が木から落ちるのを見て, 地球には引力があるのだということを発見したそうです.

I don't understand the meaning or the grammatical role of :

... だということ...

I will appreciate some help.