What's new

Hello, everyone.

Shinsan

先輩
27 Jul 2007
こんにちわ everybody. I'm a Freshman in High School in the US and I am fascinated with Japan. I love everything Japanese. Ever since I was 10 I was facinated with Japan. Anyhow, I hear that It's possible for me to get a Student Visa to go to college in Japan? I would like to do that, but after College, I would like to teach English as well. Is this possible? Also, Is it possible for me to learn Japanese in 4 years? (I'm halfway done Katakana)

I also plan to apply for Citizenship after College.

Please help me out?

ありあとございます!

Last edited:
You might want to read everything I wrote on the FAQ.
Also, visit www.eslcafe.com/discussion and look at the 4 sticky FAQs there, as well as the link to Teaching on www.gaijinpot.com 's first page.

Short answers:

1) yes, you can get a student visa to study here, pre-college or for college. With special permission, you can even work PT on that.

2) yes, you can work after college. Work visas require a bachelor's degree (in any subject) or its equivalent, or a minimum of 3 years of work experience.

3) Learn Japanese in 4 years? Depends on how much effort you put into it, and what you mean by "learn Japanese". Japanese students take 12 years to learn the basic 2000 kanji (you could study more in less time, of course). Writing isn't the only thing, of course, in a language. Grammar, idioms, slang, honorific words, etc. will probably be far more difficult and will definitely require more than 4 years to be perfectly fluent.

You don't even need Japanese to teach English, by the way. Most schools prohibit it in the classroom here as a means to simulate immersion.

5) You want Japanese citizenship? Why? You're going to need to be here about 5 years anyway before you are eligible to apply, but why renounce your own nationality?

Thank you so much, Glenski. =) I am so happy this is possible. I want to apply for citizenship so I could actually live there.