What's new

Getting Started

Tenkai

後輩
20 Aug 2013
So I started learning Japanese just recently but since there are no good Japanese courses in where I live(%90 of them don't teach Kana and Kanji ***), I'm self-learning. Or trying to. And I'm in need of some guidance. Which order should I follow when learning Japanese? I think it should be kana>kanji>grammar, but I don't know the details and more I learn kanji, harder it gets to memorize them. In addition, I don't know how to get started with vocab. Any tips and suggestions about methods to learn kanji, getting started with vocab and order to learn things would be of great help.

I think kana and kanji are quite achievable by yourself, to be honest. I taught myself kana just by practicing writing it down a lot, going over it until it stuck and reading it wherever I could find it (in song lyrics, in pictures, TV shows, etc.) until I could recognise each one on sight. Kanji is quite a bit harder, but not impossible. I started off with Heisig's Remembering the Kanji - it has most of the jouyou kanji in it, it helps familiarise you with kanji in general (which can seem very daunting and foreign at first) and how they're written, and it's very useful if you struggle remembering them. Although the lack of readings eventually frustrated me a tad too much, it was a valuable foundation and a good reference. I really recommend it.

I think the recommended order is kanji -> kana -> grammar, but a) that always seemed kind of silly to me considering how easy kana is to learn and how useful it can be, and b) I was listening/ watching stuff in Japanese all the time, and I was very impatient to understand what was being said. I think it depends on the individual. If you look at the forum stickies, there's some great resources to look into. (I can vouch for A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar as I own it, and have found it very useful.)