What's new

Getting a non-teaching Job in Japan, How difficult is it?

zeroyon

後輩
27 Oct 2004
I am wondering how difficult it is to land a lob in Japan, but not as an English teacher for JET, NOVA, or some other company.

It seems that most western foreigners in Japan who are not entirely fluent in Japanese are working as either teachers (usually English teachers), military personnel, or performers of some sort. I am currently enrolled in a university in the USA, my major is mechanical engineering, with a focus on robotics. I have also been studying Japanese for 3 years (I plan to minor in Japanese), and I studied abroad at a Japanese university all last year.

My ambition is to find a job as an engineer in Japan. I have come to the conclusion that it seems very hard, if not impossible to find an engineering job in Japan. Even if I somehow become fluent, which is probably not possible unless I actually live in Japan for another 5 years or so, it seems that a job as an engineer in japan will be hard to come by.

Are there any gaijin on the forums here who live in Japan, but are not teachers, military personnel, or performers? Any of you have any pointers or criticism for me, and could you share your experience if possible?

Advice? Don't let the internet be the Dream Destroying Machine that so many folks do.

In other words: You already know that what you propose is hard. There is a tendency for folks to seek out info from random strangers on the internet, most of whom have no actual knowledge or experience (but don't let that stand in the way of muddying the waters with an uninformed, irresponsible leather-headed opinion), and then use the confirming negative statements to justify throwing their dream onto the ash heap.

If the internet had been around back when I decided to try to get a job driving trucks, I'd still be teaching English.

I have no success story, but I'll let you know I'm in the middle of a similar task. You are right, though: it will be hard.