What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Getting a job in Japan from abroad with an MA TESOL/Applied Linguistics

lrbrugby

Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm just about to finish my MA in TESOL and Applied Linguistics. I've been working at a private primary school in Thailand for four years and I've just started my fifth year. Prior to coming here I worked in private language academies in Indonesia and Taiwan. In total, I have about 7 years experience but not much of that translates into direct experience teaching adults.

Basically, I'm looking into jobs teaching adults and Japan is always a place that I've been interested in as a place to work. I'm not in an immediate rush to leave the job that I'm in as I really enjoy it here but eventually I want to move away from teaching kids and use my MA to head into research and possibly eventually a PhD.