What's new

General question, not so much translation or grammar

Torebaa

Japwn3d
21 Sep 2006
I was in Japan for about 10 days looking at various places. I have been studying Japanese for about two years now and I was just wondering...

When two people speak direct / common / friend (however you call learned to call the form) Japanese, it seems to go so fast that it almost sounds...well I dunno, like my ear can't catch it?

So I'm wondering, in college classes (3rd year level) it is stressed we use distal / masu form and honorific / polite forms...so how do I go about 'getting an ear' if you will, for more "common" Japanese.

I'm also curious, as in another thread, on how reading Manga would help this.

Thanks anyone.

Japanese sounds rapid-fire....until a word that you know comes by. That word comes across at something near normal speed, then things resume their normal blistering pace. It's a common experience to everyone, I would guess.

Third year and still having the desu-masu forms stressed? That strikes me as odd. Failing to get students used to plain forms is doing them a disservice.

The reason you can't pick up on casual speech is probably because you a) aren't familiar with a lot of the slang or phrases that people use in casual conversation, and b) just aren't used to hearing it. Polite forms are a good habit to get into, but it's definately not what you'll hear the most walking down the street or standing at the station, listening to people as they pass by.