What's new

English Teachers make as much as Doctors!?!

Elgin

先輩
23 Oct 2003
I looked at the past topics on English teachers in Japan. But I'm a little confused, I was watching TV yesterday and they said English teachers in Taiwan made as much as Doctors. And that's without any teaching degree. I don't know if there's such a big difference from Taiwan to Japan but after seeing a past post saying English teachers make 255 000 yen a month doesn't seem like a doctor's pay.

This is my little calculation I may be wrong since I'm not good at maths:

255 000Y = 3 230$Canadian

3 230 X 12 = 38 760$

Doctor's make 100 000$ a year so what's up?

In Japan, English teachers make nowhere near what doctors make.

I would be surprised if the same did not hold true for Taiwan as well. Are you sure they were dtalking about normal English teachers and not owners/CEO's of English conversation schools etc.?

As a foreign teacher in China, even if your base wage is only 3000 RMB per month, you are still making more than double the monthly wage of the average Chinese teacher working in the China education system - average wages in China are about 600-800 RMB per month. Plus you usually have your accommodation, health cover and flights paid for as well. And you work on average 15-20 classes per week. Combined with the low cost of living in China it is easy to make and save money teaching English.

However, saying outright that English teachers in Japan make as much as doctors is false, and thus leading to the old rule "Never believe what you see on TV" ;)

To me japan docs are earning more than english teachers since learning english is so common worldwide nowadays

Eternal Wind said:
To me japan docs are earning more than english teachers since learning english is so common worldwide nowadays