What's new

End of Contract/Visa Panic

MrsPotato

Registered
30 Jun 2015
I apologise in advance if anything I'm asking has already been asked. I did spend a few hours poring over various Google results, and was getting answers to the wrong questions and a huge headache.

I've been working at a major eikaiwa school for a little over 10 months now. I had a decent experience with no real complaints about them. I'm starting to look at options to stay in the country another year. I pulled out my contract and unfortunately, I'm starting this process a little too late, as my contract states that I have to request a re-contract 60 days before my contract ends, and I'm out of that time period by just under a week.

First: I'm looking at other jobs to apply to. I understand that most eikaiwa schools are similar conditions, but I'm okay with that and wouldn't mind spending another year teaching English. I'm also aware my experience in one school won't necessarily help me get a job in another. My problem is that I don't see the option for Visa sponsorship that I saw while applying overseas; for most, all I see is that a valid working Visa is required. If I apply to these schools, is there a chance some of them would help me renew my working visa?

Second; I've also noticed that my contract ends the exact day my Visa does. Although my visa expiration date does fall on my "weekend", I'm worried about this in relation to finding a new job. Will my company keep me working up until that end date? Would that be an issue with finding another employer? I did read that I could get my Visa changed over to a tourist one while looking for a job, but I also read that it was a headache to change back. I also noticed some employers specifically ask for people not to apply with tourist visas.

Again, sorry if this has been posted before.