What's new

Doctoral program

Fanny2

後輩
5 Oct 2009
Hi,
I would like to do my doctor/phD in Japan, but I really don`t know where to start. I hold a Diploma in Biology, so my question is, whether I have to enroll in a Graduate school? Or is this only neccesary if you hold a Master degree? I am also confused about the scholarships. If you make your pHD in Germany, you normally ask at a certain institute for free positions and when you get the admission, you are paid by the university...Can anyone give me some tips, where I have to start?
Thanks alot!

Hi,
I would like to do my doctor/phD in Japan, but I really don`t know where to start. I hold a Diploma in Biology, so my question is, whether I have to enroll in a Graduate school? Or is this only neccesary if you hold a Master degree? I am also confused about the scholarships. If you make your pHD in Germany, you normally ask at a certain institute for free positions and when you get the admission, you are paid by the university...Can anyone give me some tips, where I have to start?
Thanks alot!
A doctorate in what area? You can't just "enroll" in graduate school. You will need an exceptional knowledge of Japanese and Kanji. You need to pass entrance exams which are some of the most difficult to pass to get in, some people don't ever pass after years of studing past high school.

Hi,
Or is this only neccesary if you hold a Master degree? I am also confused about the scholarships.

Umm, you have to already have a Masters degree before you can even start working on a Ph.D.
So what you should be asking is how can I get into grad school in Japan in order to start working on my Masters and eventually attain my Ph.D?
I really don't know the answer to that question, but I'm sure it involves finding the right institution, an application, a student visa, a test (the GRE), an interview, and a ton of money.