What's new

Dichotomy of Native and Non-Native English Speakers in Japan

teachermela

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am Carmela, a student from the Philippines. I'm currently working on a research paper focusing on the Dichotomy of Native and Non-Native English Speakers in Japan.

In line with this, I'm looking for Japanese people who are learning the English language as well as English teachers who are either native or non-native speakers but are working/have worked in Japan to participate in my study. I assure you all information will be treated with utmost confidentiality and will be used solely for academic purposes. Thank you so much!

Important note: Online English teachers are also qualified to participate in the study.
JAPANESE STUDENTS
1. Are you learning English language? For how long have you been studying English?
2. Are you enrolled in a language center in Japan? or self-taught?
3. When it comes to learning, do you prefer a teacher who is Native English Speaker (people from US, UK, Australia, NZ) to teach you? Why or why not?
4. What is your perception on teachers who are Non-Native English speakers?
ENGLISH LANGUAGE TEACHERS
1. Are you a native/ non-native English speaker?
2. How long have you been teaching English? How long have you been teaching in Japan?
3. What are your observations on the perception of Japanese students when it comes to their teacher being a NES? How about NNES?
4. Is there apparent discrimination or division existing between these "classfication" of teachers?
thank you for all those who will answer! 😀😀 Help me pass this semester. 💕

Buntaro

運動不足
Reaction score
Carmela,

I think you need to restructure your research a little bit.

First, I would distinguish the two types of English teachers in Japan differently than how you distinguish them. I would suggest:

JPWTEIJ’s — Japanese People Who Teach English In Japan

and