What's new

Could a foreigner join the police in Japan?

1 Dec 2005
Theoretically it's possible. If they have attained Japanese citizenship and speak, read and write Japanese to a native level then they would be fully entitled to take the exam and apply.

However, in reality would a foreigner ever be selected? Hell, has there ever even been a foreign police officer in Japan?

I personally would think not. Institutionalised racism is rife in Japan, and I would say the police is probably the most racist of the lot.

However, I'm no great expert on Japan. If a foreigner had reached the minimum level of qualifcation to apply and had a reasonably strong application, would they be in with a chance, or would it be virtually impossible?

Also, I suspect they would be concerned that a visibly foreign police officer wouldn't have the same level of authority. A foreign police officer would be such an unusual sight that a lot of people might think its some sort of joke.

What's your thoughts on this?

Do a search; I already covered this topic in detail.

In short, due to the nature of immigration requirements and the age limits for becoming a policeman in Japan the person is already out of the running before there is ever a chance for racism to have anything at all to do with it. It is an entirely moot factor.

Try to refrain from blanket assertions of racism regarding Japan. If you would care to tell us about your own personal direct first-person experiences of racism in Japan I'm sure we would all like to hear about them.

I personally would think not. Institutionalised racism is rife in Japan, and I would say the police is probably the most racist of the lot.

Becoming a cop and institutionalized racism are like comparing apples and atom bombs, neither are alike in any way shape or form.

Becoming a cop and institutionalized racism are like comparing apples and atom bombs, neither are alike in any way shape or form.