What's new

Construction work

Adz

後輩
21 Nov 2010
I am a fully qualified carpenter and wish to work in my trade in japan what sort of oportunities are there and does anyone know were I can look to pursue this goal.

I may be eligble to apply as a skilled labourer will check this out today.
Language skills are conversational at best with no reading ability beyond basic hiragana.

Good luck. You might qualify for the visa, but you still need an employer to sponsor you for it, and that will usually mean being able to find the ads (in Japanese) and interview with the employer (in Japanese).

Here is what you are going to need to provide for the visa. Most comes from your proposed employer.
Immigration Services Agency of Japan

I am a fully qualified carpenter and wish to work in my trade in japan what sort of oportunities are there and does anyone know were I can look to pursue this goal.

Japanese home construction is... ...different. The standards are different and the tools are a little different. For example, all homes even today are built on the old traditional measuring system, but many tools which take direct advantage of that were banned decades ago in a push to go metric. That being said, the home building industry is one of the places where foreigners--mostly unskilled and undocumented workers from the third world--abound.

Assuming you break into the skilled carpentry market, something I would consider to be very challenging because you would be competing against skilled Japanese who would want the work, I think you would have a hard time trying to get the people you meet on the street and at parties to admire your line of work becasue they would connect you mentally to the unskilled foreign workers.

I've lived in Japan twice and visited it over 50 times over the last four decades including my most recent visit two weeks ago. I love the place, but I think visiting it is much better than living in it if you are a foreigner.