What's new

Can foreigners buy housing in Tokyo?

Kaminoko

先輩
8 Oct 2003
Hi people,

I know that a foreigner can find it very difficult to get a mortgage for a house without permanent residency. But does anyone know if we can actually buy a house if we just have a working visa?

I guess I'm planning to move over there long term, and it would probably be cheaper in the long run to buy a house, than rent.

And does anyone know the process on how to buy a house if we are allowed to? e.g.name seals, contracts, etc.

Cheers!

If you are flush with cash and can afford to hand over enough to pay in full, then yes, anyone can buy a house in Tokyo. It sounds like you think you will need a loan, in which case you will have a huge amount of trouble with only a working visa. But that is not all they look at.

I am no expert, but the bank wants to make sure you are noting going to skip the country if times get bad. It takes several years to get a permanent resident visa, so even on a work visa they will look at other factors to see if you qualify for a loan. These are some issues that come to mind my mind if I was looking at your application. I'm probably wrong, I might miss some, and I am not a bank officer (it's a slow day at the office so I'll take a crack at it anyway).

Do you have roots in Japan? Meaning do you have a job that looks like you will still be at for the next 30 years? What are your plans for the future. Do you have kids in the school system? Are you married to a Japanese person with no intention to return to the UK before you can pay off your loan? How is your credit history? Have you been in Japan for at least a few years (ie not going to get really home sick and split) and am comfortable living here? How good is your Japanese and are you working to improve it? How good do your references look? Why this house in particular?