What's new

Cameroon followup

moyashi

後輩
15 Apr 2002
This is what I picked up off the news last night.

Cameroon aparently stayed at 2 towns. One Nakatsuki-mura and the other which was their base camp at the foot of Mt. Fujii (I'm not good with names).

The Mayor of the first village actually went to see the game while the second town wasn't really played up much in the news and last night was the first I heard of the second village.

The Cameroon team took time to practice with school soccer clubs and even visited a [yogo-gakkou] physically and mentally challenged school out of the blue. Many were suprised by this. So was I!!

At first, I was harsh about the outlay of money but ... the Cameroon team's friendliness and volunteer service won me over. Definitely, a priceless exprierence.

Once again, they were late. They made their chartered busses wait so long that some of the buses left with out the team and some of chaps ended up taking taxis to the airport.

This time, they were busy signing autographs and chatting with the locals.

Now, how many teams do that?

@side note
Last night too on another TV show they did a bit about cameroon strong belief in Witch Doctors. I wonder if they had the chance to jinx the other team or not?
Apparently, the main Witch Doctor sent a bill to the Cameroon football federation, well whatever it's called. The bill was for about US $50,000. I missed whether or not if this bill was payed since I had to take out the trash.
ughh ....

Good Luck to them next time!

German TV showed a docu on that village a few days ago. Villagers had prepared for the Cameroonian (?) team for months, a Canadian ELT held basic French courses, the whole village participated in preparing accomodation and training grounds for them. It was really touching to see their arrival and the mayor's attempts to welcome the team in French.