What's new

Buddhism

bogert

後輩
25 Dec 2007
Anyone here studying Buddhism? or your religion is Buddhism?

I've been studying Buddhism in Japan for a little while now (been here almost 1 year). First, I studied Nichiren-shu in Kyoto . Now I study Shingon-shu but am looking for a teacher.

(let me try that in Japanese since that's what we're here for.)
(let me try that in Japanese since that's what we're here for.)
誰か仏教を勉強していますか。それともあなたの宗教は仏教ですか。

私は少し日本に仏教を勉強しています。(日本にもう少しで一年住んでいます。)
初めて京都に日蓮宗を勉強しました。今真言宗を勉強しています。でも先生を探しています。

(If anyone can correct my Japanese that would be great.. my grammar is a mess)

Chris Bogert
栗栖

My religion of choice is Buddhism and I have been studying it for about a year and a half now, and I find it unlike any of the other religions out there, as it is more centred around peace and self contentment and bringing about a sense of joy to others.

Personally, I find Zen Buddhism very intriguing, but I have only nominally integrated its practice into my busy daily life (pondering koans, setting some time aside to clear my mind through meditation). I used to go to a Shingon temple as a child, and I still volunteer at church functions (as it doubles as my Karate dojo), but I don't actively go to services.

Sorry, I cannot write in Japanese on this computer, so Romaji de sumimasen...
誰か仏教を勉強していますか。それともあなたの宗教は 仏教ですか。
"Dareka (ga) bukkyou wo benkyou shiteimasu ka" already sounds like you're asking if people follow Buddhist teaching, so the second sentence is redundant.

私は少し日本に仏教を勉強しています。-> watashi ha Nihon de Bukkyou wo benkyou shiteimasu. (not "ni," do a search for the proper way to use these two particles)

日本にもう少 しで一年住んでいます。-> Mou sukoshi de ichinenkan Nihon ni sundeimasu.

初めて京都に日蓮宗を勉強しました。今真言宗を勉強し ています。でも先生を探しています。-> Saisho ni Kyouto de Nichiren-shu wo benkyou shiteimashita ga, ima Shingon-shu wo benkyou shiteimasu. Demo sensei ga inai no de sagashi (or "boushuu" if you're feeling haughty 😊) chuu desu.