What's new

Anime for learning Japanese

Zore

後輩
25 Jul 2010
Hi everyone,
So I'm currently studying Japanese at an intermediate level. I can speak a decent amount but I feel that my understanding and vocab is lacking behind a little bit.

I am currently looking around for anime that would be helpful for working on my understanding. I recently watched K-ON! without subs and although I understood the gist of it, I felt it might have been border-lining difficult.

I don't really mind what genre, age group, or w/e it's intended for, it's mainly for "passive learning" so to speak. Ideally I'd like to watch something that's not fantasy/ninja /samurai/etc. mainly because of the word usage there is next to useless sometimes :p. But what I'd ideally like to get is something for like 10-13 year olds so that the word usage is fairly simple and the grammar structures are easy to get.

Obviously I hope to start watching more complex stuff over time, but I thought I'd ask people here if anything comes to mind.

Best,
Zore

Hi Zore.
I myself have watched Princess Mononoke/Hokuto No Ken/Lupin III/Grave of fireflies/Haibane renmei/barefoot-gen/Death note/... ,These are which my Japanese friend had recommended me.Whereas i have watched them but didn't take them serious,Ha ha!!😌
I think Haibane Renmei & LupinIII can be so helpful, also simple one.🙂 it is my opinion.

Be Success ^^

Thanks for your tip.

I would hardly call princess mononoke and death note simple animes to watch tho. They both use a lot of weird words and terminologies, but I'll check out the other ones as I am not too familiar with them.

I think it's one of the best way to learn Japanese, although they use slang in the animes but still speaking easier language than in the live action series. When I watch anime, I always find myself talking more and more Japanese :D