What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Absolutely stumped by two sentences I feel I should know

PetCal23

後輩
Reaction score
Hi all. I am studying for the N2 test and came across these two sentences, which completely stumped me. Last time I posted here I was asked to provide a guess, so below each one I will give my best effort. But it certainly isn't enough. Cheers

災害に強いまちづくりや家づくりをしなければならないのに、ついつい災害を忘れてしまうからです。
> Even though strong houses and towns must be built for disasters, we occasionally forget ????

例えば、在宅を新築したとします。我が国では、建てた最後、家の手入れを積極的にやらないのが一般的です。
> For example, building new houses??? In our country, no sooner than a house was built, it is usual to have to make repairs ???

My befuddlement at these sentences is probably not a positive indicator that I'm ready for the N2.

Toritoribe

松葉解禁
Reaction score
災害に強い modifies まちづくりや家づくり, not just 強い.
ついつい means more likely "unconsciously/unintentionally" rather than "occasionally". Check your dictionary again.

Isn't it 宅を新築した and 建てた最後?
Do you understand the meaning of 例えば~とします?
やらない is simply a negative form of やる. You seem to confuse it with やらなければならない.
You misunderstand ~たら最後.
さいご【最後】 の英語・英訳
2 〔「…したら最後」の形で,それきり〕
言い出したら最後,後へは引かない
Once he says something, he will never back down.
彼ににらまれたら最後だ
If you rub him the wrong way [If you get on his wrong side], you're done for.
最後の英語・英訳 - goo辞書 英和和英

My befuddlement at these sentences is probably not a positive indicator that I'm ready for the N2.
I'm afraid I have to agree with that...

joadbres

八方凡人
Reaction score
In Japanese, not all clauses that end in のに convey the meaning "even though". I am not certain, but I think the example here does not. I recommend NOT reflexively translating のに to "even though" whenever you see it, but rather make sure you are parsing the full sentence and understanding the context.