What's new

どこにありますか。 vs. どこですか。

J44xm

経験値が足りない
6 Dec 2004
As I understand from recent events and postings, どこですか is legal Japanese, right? This confuses me a bit because I was under the impression that locations, including interrogatives like どこ, essentially required ある or いる with に used as the particle of location. (For example, あの猫はどこにいますか。) Is there some sort of difference between the uses?

Doko ni arimasu ka?
Where does it exist? (an inamiate object) ni shows location in this case.

Doko desu ka?
Where is it?

I'm no expert, but hope that helps.

I would have thought the same as GCL. The difference being "where something exists" and where something "is". Although, of course in English asking someone "where does the cat exist?" will make you look like a weirdo.

Bucko said:
I would have thought the same as GCL. The difference being "where something exists" and where something "is". Although, of course in English asking someone "where does the cat exist?" will make you look like a weirdo.

Yeah, they used that skit on I am yan. I was like that's weird.

trust me on this, doko desu ka is a much more common usage. while doko ni arimasu/imasu is grammatically sound, it is not used very often, and would sound rather awkward.

toire ha doko desu ka... the most important phrase while travelling in japan.

nhk9 said:
trust me on this, doko desu ka is a much more common usage. while doko ni arimasu/imasu is grammatically sound, it is not used very often, and would sound rather awkward.
toire ha doko desu ka... the most important phrase while travelling in japan.

As for toilet paper, where is it?

You mean toire o doko desu ka?

I guess it sounds natural though.

GoldCoinLover said:
As for toilet paper, where is it?
You mean toire o doko desu ka?
I guess it sounds natural though.

Wrong. "As for" = "は" (wa), it is the topic marker. "toire" is the subject.

toire wa doko desu ka (As for the toilet, where is it?)

Bucko said: