What's new

ふしぎの国のアリス

qbicc

Kouhai
9 Jul 2017
Hello everyone, i recently started learning Japanese and know the meaning of only about 200 kanji yet.
I also started with some grammar aaaand i started reading my first book. It is ふしぎの国のアリス.
Well regarding that book, it would be awesome if i could some help regarding the translation of a certain sentence:
ある はれた 秋の日、アリスは、おねえさんと いっしょに、土手の 木の下で ほんを ぞんていました。
The parts i do not quite get are:
1: ある はれた 秋の日、 why is there a verb at the beginning and the middle of the sentence? To me it seems like the order here is reversed somehow. The first part until the comma is really not clear to me.
2: 土手の 木の下で does this part mean "on a bank under a tree?"
3: ぞんていました I am not really able to break down that verb yet. I guess i am still missing some important grammar. So please break it down for me. I get that よ does mean read and that ました is polite and past tense. But i would have expected something like よみました i don't really get the んでい part.

Sorry but the verb at the end of the sentence is よんでいました and not ぞんでいました. I am German and on the German keyboard y an z are swapped. I'm still trying to get used to that.

Last edited by a moderator:
No offense to you, but the book is too advanced for you yet. You need to learn "modifying clause", "verb conjugation", "-te iru form" or "the way how the possession particle modifies" etc. to interpret the meaning of the sentence.

One of the most frustrating things about beginning to learn Japanese is that you have to learn a relatively large amount of grammar before you can actually begin to read anything.

At this point, your time would be more productively used learning grammar than kanji.

Okay i got that and i will concentrate on grammar more now. I thought it might be a good idea to learn the grammar by reading that book (kinda learning by doing),that's why i tried it in the first place.