What's new

このかばんはだれですか

ゴドフィスト

Registered
18 Apr 2018
Hey guys, was looking for a forum where I can ask some simple questions where I can hone my love of Japanese. New here like most. Im just beginning and learning grammar and words at the moment, so please forgive me.

I've been burning through my genki textbook that I bought and im currently on confused on grammar. Right now im learning これはどれのかばんですか? Which is roughly "whose bag is this?" I was wondering is it still grammatically correct to say このかばんはだれですか? If this is also grammatically correct then i'd be able to freestyle a little bit with additional sentences. Also is this gramatically correct saying これはだれですか? If I wanted to say "Whose is this?"

Thank you, super excited and hopefully I can learn and get more understanding of grammar.

There is a typo in これはどれのかばんですか?. It's だれの.

このかばんはだれですか? is ungrammatical. It should be このかばんはだれですか?. Can you see the difference?

これはだれですか? means "Who is this?". Now you can say "Whose is this?" in Japanese, right?

There is a typo in これはどれのかばんですか?. It's だれの.

このかばんはだれですか? is ungrammatical. It should be このかばんはだれですか?. Can you see the difference?

これはだれですか? means "Who is this?". Now you can say "Whose is this?" in Japanese, right?
Ahh ok. Sorry for the typo. So I would deffinitly still would have to add the partical の even though I specified the bag using この already. Strange, but I got it! So to say "Whose is this" it would be これはだれのですか? By adding の im asking "whose" instead of "who" if im understanding correctly. Thank you! Super excited

edit: I think using the same knowledge, when asking このかかばんだれのですか your saying whose bag is this, instead of missing the particale の you'd be asking who is this bag. Am I understanding that correctly?

Last edited: