What's new


Welcome to our Japan community!

A discussion forum for all Things Japanese. Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

  1. Daisen Kofun

    Daisen Kofun

    The Daisenryo Kofun (大仙陵古墳, Daisenryō kofun) is a megalithic burial mound in the city of Sakai, Osaka Prefecture. It was constructed in the mid-fifth century and allegedly built for the late Emperor Nintoku (photo credit: Kyodo).
  2. Haniwa


    Haniwa statues from the Kofun Period (250-538CE) on display at the Rekihaku
  3. Kofun Period

    History Kofun Period

    Kofun Period (250-538) The Kofun Period (古墳時代 Kofun jidai) refers to the protohistoric period of Japan, usually dated from 250 to ca 538 CE, characterised by the construction of large tumuli or tomb mounds (古墳 kofun). It is generally divided into two phases: early (4th century), and late 5th and...
  4. Asuka Period (538-710)

    History Asuka Period (538-710)

    The Asuka Period (飛鳥時代 Asuka jidai) is defined as a subdivision of the Yamato Period (ca 250-710 CE) or – by other accounts – as the Late Kofun Period, variously dated but centred in the reign (593-628) of Empress Suiko (推古天皇 Suiko-tennō, 554-628), the first of Japan’s eight empress regnant...
  5. Haniwa

    History Haniwa

    Haniwa (埴輪) is a collective term for the unglazed earthenware cylinders and hollow sculptures that decorated the surface of the great mounded tombs (kofun) built for the Japanese elite during the fourth to seventh centuries. Haniwa (埴輪) statues were as tall as 1.5 metres and were made in a...
Top Bottom