What's new

Homesickness - What should I do?

DragonChan

後輩
21 Jul 2004
For those of you that don't know, I'm an exchange student living in Japan (surprise surprise). I've been here since August and well, I really want to go home.

I figured when I got here it would be natural to be homesick for a bit, and they say it takes 3 months to adjust. So I gave it time, joined a club, tried to keep myself busy. 4 months later I still really want to go home.

The way I'd been getting through before was to find a point just a little bit in the future and look forward to it. I just had to make it there. My most recent one is Christmas, but with that only two days away I literally have nothing to look forward to until June when I am supposed to head home.

I've been debating it in my head for a long time, and I don't want to look back on this later and regret not staying for the entire trip, and yet...I just really don't like it here. My mom told me to make a list of what I like about Japan, and then suggested I try to focus on that.

So after half an hour of hard thinking I only came up with four things.
1) I like my host family.
2) I like living only a 10 minute walk away from school
3) I like the Japanese language
4) I like anime/manga <--yeah I was getting desperate at this point.

See the only thing there that helps is I can just focus on studying...but I already have been. I mean the school forces me to study Japanese the entire day while I'm there, at home I watch TV and read manga with my dictionary nearby and look up words and ask my JSL teachers about grammar points...but it's just not enough to put up with another 5 months of all this.

The current deal I made with my family is that I would hang out until the end of the Japanese school year. If I make it till March and think I can't stay another 2 months then I can pack it in.