What's new

Which is better long-term: Japanese International Schools vs Universities?

KukaiGiggles

Registered
12 Aug 2014
Hello everyone. First of all, thank you for taking the time to read my forum post.

I want to advance my career as an English teacher, and I'm trying to find the best way to go about it.
I want to teach English at either an International High School or in a Japanese University. I have 5 years of teaching experience at all levels and all ages, but this consists of 2 years of Secondary school and 3 years in a kindergarten. I have taught eikaiwa, business english, and private lessons on the side the whole while. I want to get a Master's in English education, not necessarily TEFL, thinking that it would be more applicable world-wide. Naturally, I want as few losses as possible, and I want to get paid for my studies. Would anyone be aware of graduate programs in Japan, either through distance learning or classroom learning, that would offer teaching assistantships or fellowships that would certify one to teach at International Schools or Unis in Japan? Would it be better to study in my home country (US) and then come back with some sparkling teaching certification? I'd prefer to stay in Japan while studying for the qualification, but obviously my career and survival comes first.

I assume studying in the US would give me a better chance to move around the world and teach at higher quality schools.

I'd be happy to hear your advice!

Most J HS's will require a teaching license from your home country plus 2 years of teaching experience there. Universities require merely a relevant master's or doctoral degree (e.g., linguistics major), some teaching experience, some language fluency, publications, and contacts.

I want to get paid for my studies.
I think that's asking a lot. Why would an employer want to do that?