What's new

Tricky (?) tax question

Hey guys,

I work as a freelancer in Japan for a couple of Swedish companies. Although my income is Swedish-source, I only pay taxes in Japan (as this is what the Swedish tax agency instructed me to do).

So far so good, but here comes the confusing part: when I filed my Japanese taxes this year (which was actually the first time I've done this), I was instructed by the staff at the temporary tax office here in Shinjuku to only report income I've actually earned IN Japan. So basically, I excluded all income I'd earned while on business trips or vacation in other countries.

I asked the Swedish tax agency about this point just to be sure, but they insisted that I should pay no Swedish taxes, not even on the income NOT taxed by Japan.

So my questions is this: can it really be the case that whenever I leave Japan for a certain period of time, any income I earn during that period is not taxable at all? Sounds too good to be true, which is why I doubt it actually is...

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Ratings
It appears that for tax determination you are deemed resident and working in Japan.

1. Are you paid in Japanese yen?
2. Is your pay deposited into a Bank in Japan?
3. Is the work you are doing on the business trips abroad earning income from your primary work in Japan?
4. Is the work on vacations abroad also related to your Japan based work?

If the answers to these questions are all 'yes' ..... I think you may have been given bad advice by the Japanese tax office.

I would give them another call, and explain your work/income status in detail (make sure they understand what you said,rather than them confirming that they heard what you said!!)

Engaging a Tax agent experienced in this area would be the safest (but expensive) way forward!