What's new

Teaching based visa.

Benjy27

Registered
So i am currently a ESL teacher in Vietnam, by the time i leave here i will have been teaching for two years in public and private schools.
My plan is after completing the two years, to apply for a Japanese working holiday visa so i can work in Japan for the year. This will then give me the three years teaching experience needed...

The biggest problem is that I do not have a degree, but i do have a 120 hour practical TESOL. I am coming over with my girlfriend (British) who is completely qualified with an PGCEI and the same teaching experience as me.

The reason I write this is so you guys and girls can tell me what can go wrong.
- Will I have a problem without having a degree but with a good amount of experience?
- Will my girlfriend and I find it difficult to live together? or get schools close together?

Thank you for any replies.
Benjy

Ratings
You don't need a degree to hold a WHV. You do have to return home to apply for it.

- Will I have a problem without having a degree but with a good amount of experience?
- Will my girlfriend and I find it difficult to live together? or get schools close together?
What kind of problem do you mean in the first question? Finding work? Keeping work? What kind of work?

As for the second question, there are no guarantees whatsoever that you will work near each other. I can't imagine why you would think there is such a guarantee (or imply one). Difficult to live together? That's a personal question only the 2 of you can answer, I would think. Not sure what sort of reply you were searching for.

Benjy27

Registered
Well I didn't I'd have to explain that bit... being an unmarried couple would we find it hard to get schools in the same town? So that we can live together yet work apart. I kind of already know the answer city wise but what about rural japan?

Keeping work shouldn't be the problem it's getting my foot in the door without a degree that worries me.