What's new

Shinto and War Interview Questions

Jimmy Flood

Registered
25 Jan 2018
Hey Guys, I'm an IB World Religions student conducting a research paper on Shinto and War/Armed Conflicts. If any of you are Shinto and willing to answer these questions, please respond as soon as possible:

Shinto Interview Questions: War and Armed Conflicts

1. As there is no official dogma of Shinto, which texts do you use to determine how to live your life according to Shinto beliefs?

2. What is your personal belief about fighting in wars or being involved with armed conflicts?

1. What in life, in practice of Shinto, or in reading the Nihon Shoki, Kojiki, or your preferred sacred texts has influenced you to hold such a belief?

2. How do you think your personal belief compares to the consensus of Shinto worshippers about War/Armed Conflicts?

3. How do you think your personal belief compares to the community of your Shrine?
  3. Do you believe that everything (that could host Kami) that is killed or destroyed must be honored in order to prevent the creation of evil spirits?

1. Do you believe War is honorable as a whole?

1. If yes, what influence does your faith have on this belief?

2. If no, do you believe certain aspects can be honorable or dishonorable? What influence does your faith have on this belief?
    2. In situations of war:

1. Do you believe there is honor in killing another in hand-to-hand combat?

2. Do you believe there is honor in killing someone with a bladed weapon in combat?

3. Do you believe there is honor in killing someone with a firearm up close?

4. Do you believe there is honor in killing someone with a firearm from a long distance?

5. Do you believe there is honor in killing someone with a small explosive device (grenade, c4) up close?

6. Do you believe there is honor in killing someone with a pressured explosive such as a land mine?

7. Do you believe there is honor in killing someone with a medium-sized explosive (bomb, torpedo)?