What's new

Mext: Medicine

Hello everyone,

I'm from Brazil, and I'm thinking about applying for MEXT scholarship for Medicine this year.
I have already good language skills in Japanese (JLPT 1), good grades, and the tests won't be a problem - I have been studying to pass (and I did pass) for the best brazilian engineering institute for about two years, and the Monbusho questions are in the same level of difficulty. I have always wanted to study psychiatry and dermatology, but only now I've got the guts to talk with my dad about it (he has an business related to chemical and mechanical engineering. That's why he wanted me to pursue either one). I'm aware about the competition and the universities requirements.

I have some questions though:

1) I have been studying Japanese, Chinese and Russian for about 5 years now. First and third are in advanced levels and my chinese is upper intermediate, but I'm not quite as confident about my English skills. Do I have to be fluent in English to study Medicine in Japan?

2) I intend to study Medicine at Kyushu University. It's a good location and it has a nice weather, and probably is not as expensive and competitive as Tokyo. But, after 6 years of college and passing the national test to get a license, how do I apply for residence? Is there any examination or special requirement for foreign students?

3) Also, the scolarship doesn't cover anything after university years. Do I get paid in residence? If not, is there a way to get money during it? This is what I'm most worried about, because my parents clearly stated that they won't give me any money after my first year.