What's new

Japanese Questions

Berserk

Registered
I know this was probably covered before, but I couldn't really find the specific answers.

So I'm 17, I started learning Japanese 1 week ago, i already know hiragana and can basically read it at ~1/5 of my native language reading speed and i know around 50 words and a few kanji. My goal is to be able to understand and to read ~70% of Japanese in news,manga,anime,novels etc. in around 3 years, I have no interest in writing nor speaking as of now as I'm not going to use them any day soon or maybe ever or I will learn it through learning other things. So my questions:

1. How do i learn kanji ? Is memorising their meaning in english a good idea ? Because that doesn't make any sense for me, how will i read Japanese if I can only understand the meanings in english ? I mean, if there is a sentence with Kanji and Hiragana, i will read hiragana IN JAPANESE and translate to my self what it means, while when i see a Kanji i will only know it IN ENGLISH and won't know it's japanese reading. And that's basically how all the courses are designed Kanji - English. That's my biggest question at the moment, should I continue learning like that and everything will fall into places eventually or am I doing something wrong ?

2. How many kanji/words/phrases etc. do I need to learn every day ? I have lots of free time right now, but I still want to know the efficient way of learning.

3. Is reading stories for kids in hiragana (with a few Kanji) and translating in my language a good way to learn vocabulary and get faster at reading ? (Because i will read A LOT when I learn Japanese).

4. Do i really need to learn all of those grammar rules or will it be clear how the sentences are formed when I have enough reading practice ?

Thanks for reading and I'm again sorry , I'm almost sure these have been covered before.

Ratings
Hello Berserk,