What's new

Japanese Novels - suggestions and advice wanted

Hello there, I'm new so please be nice...

I couldn't find a topic that novels really fit into so this one seemed the best, sorry if it's in the wrong place!

Anyway, I would very much like to purchase a Japanese novel of some sort, I've been looking at the most popular ones (Norwegian Wood, The WInd-up Bird Chronicle, Hard Boiled Wonderland) but I'm a relative beginner (still only 1/4 way through the kanji), and although I do want to get one that's going to be challenging (something to work towards and learn from) I don't know if proper full novels like those would be a bit too heavy...

Does anyone have any input on those three, or any other suggestions for novels I should consider?

I'd also be happy to hear about any young adult novels that aren't too difficult, or ones that include furigana.

Many thanks in advance!

Mike Cash

骨も命も皆此の土地に埋めよう
Ratings
Try short stories.

In my opinion, the time would better be spent increasing kanji/vocab/grammar skills before tackling anything more than a few pages long. What you're looking at is not "reading" but spending huge amounts of time looking stuff up and decoding.

The benefit of shorter stuff is that it is easier to whip yourself through to the end so at least you can see how the thing turned out, rather than getting partway into a full-length novel and chucking it as an exercise in frustration instead of a pleasurable reading experience.

Last edited:
I do intend to try short stories too, but I was hoping for a bit more of a long-term endeavour, even if just to read a page a day to practise and get used to the language. Even if I do end up decoding every single bit it should help with my grammar understanding, no?

I will look into shorter stories as well though :) do you have any suggestions?

Mike Cash

骨も命も皆此の土地に埋めよう
Ratings