What's new

Is a study plan mere formality to gauge your merit?

hiverloon

先輩
23 Aug 2015
When you have to write a study plan or a research proposal either for a uni entrance or scholarship application, does the research plan you propose have to be really carried out after you are accepted, or is it just a matter of formality and assessment? I mean it is not easy to write out a research plan without going directly to the school you are aiming and see which instruments they are having, as the facility will determine which kind of researches can be done there.

I guess you are studying science since you talk about the instruments available. I have no direct experience as to whether they would ever check that you are carrying out the kind of research you said you would in the plan. Since research in science is unpredictable, I doubt they would penalise you (or even notice) unless you suddenly decide to change field completely.

However, what you can do is get in touch with professors to ask them what projects you could work on, and discuss your research plan with them. This is what I am doing to get the basis of my research plan. Obviously in science you can't just "do your own thing" independently of others in your group, so I can't see any other way to get a vaguely feasible plan. You can write a briliant proposal but if there is no supervisor for you to work with, you will not be accepted by the university!

Assume you must do what you propose, but keep in mind that they may reject you if the plan is too bizarre or if it contains equipment out of the ordinary.

I have asked the administration office and they said that asking the prof to help decide your plan is not allowed.
Well I guess I just need to look at their publication list and infer from them what else can be done.

I have asked the administration office and they said that asking the prof to help decide your plan is not allowed.