What's new

How to Acquire Student Visa While in Japan

Erik Tate

Registered
13 Aug 2016
Hi, I am a college student from America, who is now currently on vacation in Japan. I am going to start studying at Saitama University at the end of September. I was wondering how I would go about getting a student visa from a Japanese Embassy or Immigration Services. I already have my certificate of eligibility and my passport, but I am not sure where to go do apply for a visa. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks a bunch!

Hi, I am a college student from America, who is now currently on vacation in Japan. I am going to start studying at Saitama University at the end of September. I was wondering how I would go about getting a student visa from a Japanese Embassy or Immigration Services. I already have my certificate of eligibility and my passport, but I am not sure where to go do apply for a visa. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks a bunch!

This is what I could find online. Basically it appears that the government strongly opposes converting your tourist visa into a student visa while in Japan, but it may be allowed. Directly from the mofa (Frequently Asked Questions | Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan) website:

Q5: Can I apply for a visa at the nearest Japanese Embassy / Consulate General while traveling in a foreign country?
A5: You can apply for the visa at the Japanese Embassy / Consulate General in your own country (region) or country (region) of residence (if there is more than one, apply to the Japanese Embassy / Consulate General nearest from where you live). In other words, you cannot apply for a visa at your travel destination; however, if there are unavoidable circumstances, consult with the Japanese Embassy / Consulate General where you would like to apply for the visa before making the application.

Another source from the temple university (Frequently Asked Questions about Student Visa - Visa Information, Undergraduate Program) mentions this: