What's new

Heeeello!

Obviously

Registered
Hello from Norway! :D

I usually end up writing very tedious "about me" threads, so i think i will skip the main introduction altogether this time. However, i have a little problem that needs to be adressed before i venture on the road to japanese-learning:

I am currently fluent in two langauges, english (or atleast almost) and norwegian. In almost all the foreign countries i have visited i have been able to function to a certain degree using only english. This includes the countries where the population does not speak english very well, meaning that i could propably travel around Japan, where the habitans have had atleast 6 years of english teaching, using only english for a small period of time (under 6 months) and function well "enough".

With that said, let us get on to my problem; I am currently an 18 years old student who is moving to another city in Norway to live there for a year or so, which means that i will not be able to move to any other country (Japan for example) before that year has passed. Now, i feel a craving in my body to learn another language. A feeling that has been growing more and more in the past few months. The problem here though, is that i am not certain on which language i want to learn. Japanese has been on the top spot for a while, but the more i think about it the more i doubt it. I am thinking about how long it will take (maybe 10+ years before i am satisfied), and the fact that i have not been to the country yet. I KNOW i will like it, but what if i do not love it? What if spending 1+ year of my life will result in nothing? Furthermore, i am afraid that i will lose motivation after 3 or 5+ years. This is, after all, something that becomes a big part of my life if i choose to undertake the task. I do not want to stop a project like this halfway trough, when halfway is 5+ years!