This is an overview of selected country names as spelt in kanji (ateji).

Country names in Japanese are usually spelt in katakana, as they were often translated from other languages, such as English, Portuguese or Spanish. Neighbouring Asian countries, as well as nations of historical significance to Japan, are spelt in kanji (China, Korea, the USA, etc.). Some countries have more than one name: England (英国 Eikoku) is often called イギリス (Igirisu), the USA (米国 Beikoku) is simply referred to as アメリカ (Amerika), Germany (独国 Dokukoku) is usually called ドイツ (Doitsu) and France (仏国 Fukkoku) フランス (Furansu).

The kanji employed in most foreign country names are ateji (当て字; 宛字, lit. “assigned characters”) which represent native or borrowed words phonetically, regardless of the meaning of the Chinese characters. They are marked with (a) in the table below.

KanjiKana - RomajiCountry
豪州; 濠洲オーストラリア - Gōshō or OsutrariaAustralia
墺太利 (a)オーストリア - OsutoriaAustria
白耳義 (a)ベルギー - BerugīBelgium
伯剌西爾 (a)ブラジル - BurajiruBrazil
勃牙利 (a) ブルガリア - BurugariaBulgaria
柬埔寨; 柬蒲寨 (a)カンボジア - KanbojiaCambodia
加奈陀 (a)カナダ - KanadaCanada
中国ちゅうごく - ChūgokuChina
丁抹 (a)デンマーク - DenmākuDenmark
埃及 (a)エジプト - EjiputoEgypt
仏国ふっこく - FukkokuFrance
独国どくこく - DokukokuGermany
英国えいこく - EikokuGreat Britain
希臘 (a)ギリシャ; ギリシア - GirishaGreece
印度 (a)インド - IndoIndia
衣蘭 (a)イラン - IranIran
伊太利亜 (a)イタリヤ - ItariaItaly
日本にほん; にっぽん - Nihon; NipponJapan
韓国かんこく - KankokuKorea
墨西哥 (a)メキシコ - MekishikoMexico
蒙古もうこ - MōkoMongolia
捏巴爾 (a)ネパール - NepāruNepal
和蘭 (a)オランダ - OrandaNetherlands
波蘭 (a)ポーランド - PōrandaPoland
葡萄牙 (a)ポルトガル - PorutogaruPortugal
羅馬尼亜 (a)ルーマニア - RūmaniaRomania
露西亜; 魯西亜 (a)ロシア; ロシヤ - Rossia; RossiyaRussia
南阿共和国 (a)なんあきょうわこく - NanakyōwakokuSouth Africa
西班牙 (a)スペイン - SupainSpain
瑞西 (a)スイス - SuisuSwitzerland
瑞典 (a)スウェーデン - SuēdenSweden
泰国たいこく - TaikokuThailand
土国どこく - DokokuTurkey
米国 (a)べいこく - BeigokuUnited States of America
越南 (a)えつなん - EtsunanVietnam
  • Like
Reactions: Davide92